IELTS is an acronym for International English Language Testing Service. It is a test for testing English language proficiency of non-native English language speakers all over the world.

The popularity of this test can be established from the fact that it is a mandatory test for seeking admissions and getting migration in countries such as the UK, New Zealand, Australia, and Canada.

As of today, more than 10,000 organizations around the globe make use of this test out of which 3000 are only in the US.

Its creators are world-renowned English language experts who formulated it about three decades ago and since then it has only increased in its fame. Adding to it, this test is formulated by experts in such an efficient way that it tests you on all the skills required for the proficiency of this language.

Do you want to apply for UK spouse visa? You must have to clear IELTS for the accomplishment of this purpose. Let’s dig deep into it below:

Wondering Who are the Owners of IELTS?

Here are the three giant organizations owning IELTS:

  • British Council
  • IDP: IELTS Australia
  • Cambridge Assessment of Australia

What are the Stages of IELTS?

The IELTS test comprises of four stages which mean it tests you on the basis of the following:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Listening
  • Speaking

Each stage is assessed individually and the score is given as bands ranging from 0-9. Apart from this, one final collective score is also given which is also in the form of bands.

Moreover, the band requirements depend on the type of visa that you are applying for. Almost all the universities find it necessary to mention the number of bands that they require as part of eligibility criteria for securing admission in the particular university.

What are the Types of IELTS?

IELTS is your proof of command over the English language which is the most widely spoken language all over the world. With this, you can apply for any desired job, immigration and at any educational institute for studying. It is classified into the following four types:

  • IELTS Academic Test
  • IELTS General Training Test
  • IELTS for UKVI
  • IELTS Life Skills

Wondering What is the Difference between these Types?

The tests are the same in content, format, level of difficulty and assessment. The only difference lies in the presentation of results which is according to your visa type.

IELTS Academic Test: As the name reveals IELTS academic test is your key to higher education in English speaking countries. If you are ambitious to pursue your undergraduate or postgraduate studies, then this is the test for you. This is also applicable if you want to work for a professional institute in English speaking universities.

IELTS General Training Test: this is the test that is solely for proving your English skills in an English speaking country. You should take this test if you want to study at a below degree level in an English speaking country or if you want to work in one.

Apart from that, it is also applicable if you wish to apply for emigration.

IELTS for UKVI: This is the test to prove your English language skills along with your UK visa and Immigration Application. This is a new test developed by the UK government and it is also referred to as SELT (Secured English Language Test). this is solely for immigration and visa purposes.

IELTS Life Skills: This test is specifically designed for those applying for a UK Visa or Immigration as a family of a settled person or broad family of the settled person or for an indefinite time and needs to prove their listening and speaking skills for the purpose.

This is further divided into three types that are: A1, A2* and B1 which are levels of language as per Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. This test is approved as SELT by the UK government.

IELTS Life Skills A1: This is a specific test that comes as part and parcel of your application when you are applying for UK Visa or Immigration as a family of a settled person in the UK. This is also used when you are applying for a spouse visa.

The persons applying as a family of a settled person need to prove their listening and speaking skills. Noticeably, this is mandatory to pass in order to get your desired visa or immigration. The test is usually 16 to 18 minutes long and you need to score a minimum of 4 bands for passing this test.

Posted in Green cardTags